Have you recently married or changed your surname? Your SASSA R350 maybe affected

The South Africa Social Security Agency (SASSA) has warned people who have married or changed their surname since applying for the R350 social relief distress grant to inform the agency.



SASSA explained that it validates the client’s information with the department of home affairs monthly. If details do not match, the applications for the period may be declined.



If you are an approved beneficiary of the SASSA SRD R350 Grant and you wish to change your banking details, CLICK here to submit your ID Number.

  1. An SMS containing a secure link, unique to you, will be sent to the mobile phone number with which you registered during application.
  2. Click on the link in the SMS and follow the instructions carefully.
  3. Should you select payment into a bank account, please ensure that you are the owner of the account. SASSA cannot pay your grant into another person’s bank account.
  4. Should you select the money transfer option via one of the major banks, please ensure that the mobile phone number on which you received the SMS is registered in your name.
  5. SASSA cannot pay your grant into a mobile phone number that is registered to another person.
  6. Please also note that the new banking details will only be used for future payments, after verification



SAPO has put together a handy little calendar for R350 grant beneficiaries for this month. Some clients can collect their money as early as Monday 10 January. Unfortunately for others, the lottery of their ID numbers means they’ll have to wait until Friday 14 January before making a withdrawal.

  1. Monday 10 January, Monday 17 January, Monday 24 January: For ID numbers ending in 080 OR 085.
  2. Tuesday 11 January, Tuesday 18 January, Tuesday 25 January: For ID numbers ending in 081 OR 088.
  3. Wednesday 12 January, Wednesday 19 January, Wednesday 26 January: For ID numbers ending in 082 OR 087.
  4. Thursday 13 January, Thursday 20 January, Thursday 27 January: For ID numbers ending in 083 OR 088.
  5. Friday 14 January, Friday 21 January, Friday 28 January: For ID numbers ending in 084 OR 089.



Meanwhile, SASSA has also apologised for a delay in responding to requests for reconsideration from those whose applications were declined.

 

Share